Built in 1886, the Haas-Lilienthal House, at 2007 Franklin Street, functions as a house museum, a popular venue for meetings, lectures, social events, as well as the organization’s home office. Members of the Haas-Lilienthal family donated the house to SF Heritage in 1973 with most of its contents and furnishings intact. The house is open for public tours and attracts visitors from around the world. It also serves as a classroom for SF Heritage’s educational programs such as “Heritage Hikes,” an interpretive tour for 3rd graders begun in 1981.
- Visit our house website for information on public tours, the history of the house and family, and event rentals.
- Information on SF Heritage events at the Haas-Lilienthal House can be found on our Events page.
The 1904 Doolan-Larson Building stands on the northwest corner of the iconic intersection of Haight and Ashbury Streets. Gifted to SF Heritage by owner and longtime resident Norm Larson in 2017, the building’s upper floors host an evolving artist-in-residency program while the retail storefronts along Haight Street provide rental income to support SF Heritage’s mission. The space at 1506 Haight Street is activated for rotating artistic productions, gallery exhibitions, and SF Heritage programming.
- Information on the building, its role in counter-culture history, and its potential as a hub of artistic expression can be found on the Haight and Ashbury website.